Lincoln National Guard Marathon Race Recap

In honor of the race, this post became a marathon read. You might want to grab a seat.

Goals: 1) Win. 2) Break the course record (2:42:45) 3) Set a new PR (sub 2:40:09)

Results: 1st female finisher, in 2:43:24

One of the greatest thing about running, training, and racing is not what we earn but what we learn from it all. As much fun as it was to experience winning the marathon yesterday, the key things I learned and took away from the race weekend are building blocks on the path to becoming better. Post race thoughts seem to consistently trend the following emotions: happiness for completing the task at hand, pride in reaching a goal, and reflection on the race and what to take away from it.

Goal 1: WIN. Goal accomplished and how sweet it was!

IMG_4236

Many moments and images that will stick in my mind from this race: The crowds cheering for me as I chased the man on the motorcycle the entire 26.2 miles, the National Guard members supporting at each aid station, sharing encouraging words and high fives with familiar faces watching and running the race, ‘Team Herrick’ family cheering Justin, Andy, and myself on into the University of Nebraska Lincoln football stadium, and bear hugging a National Guard member after breaking the tape at the finish line. The star treatment the Lincoln Track Club provided to me as the female winner was pretty surreal and something I will not forget.

What I Learned: Be courteous, be gracious, thank those around you, who made the day, race, and entire accomplishment possible. Without them this day would not have happened or played out the way it did.

Goal 2 and Goal 3: Break the course record (2:42:45) and run a PR of sub 2:40:09. Goals not quite accomplished.

IMG_4226

The race began at mid-50 degrees and 70% humidity. The first 10 miles felt comfortable and my legs seemed to be okay with mile splits reading anywhere between 5:55-6:08. This is a large range in pace per mile to be running in the first half of a marathon, and it was not my intention to do this, according to my race plan. Though the rolling terrain and wind seemed to make consistent splits difficult.

The course becomes lonely at the 13.1 mile mark, as the half marathon runners turn into Memorial Stadium to finish while the marathoners continue heading 6.5 miles southeast toward Holmes Park Lake. Within seconds of the 13.1 timing mat I was hit by a head wind that continued for the next 6 miles.

What I Learned: The power of the mind and 1 step at a time. Mentality during difficult and lonely portions of a race is key. I continued to tell myself to ‘take it 1 mile at a time until Holmes Lake’.

What I learned: Pacing. Running just seconds faster per mile than planned during the first half of a marathon can make major differences in the legs as the miles continue. Especially hitting a head wind and the rising temperatures between miles 13-19, my legs and body became heavy, quick. I know that the second half of the race would have been difficult regardless of what pace I ran during the first 13.1 miles, though my legs and mind may have responded better had I held back the reigns earlier on in the race.

Getting to the 20 mile mark (turnaround to head back toward Memorial Stadium) I was able to see the next female, about 60 seconds behind me at that point. I was able to pick my pace back up during the last 10k of the race and continued to push and feed off of the cheers from spectators and fellow runners on the course. The heat only increased those last 6 miles and I began pouring water over my face with each aid station.

What I Learned: When handed lemons, make lemonade… or in my case, when handed a cup of water, make it a game of basketball with the goal of a slam dunk into the trash at the end of each aid station. I wanted to have fun and enjoy the experience during this specific race, regardless of how the day was going. Hitting EVERY SINGLE trash bucket with my empty water cup, followed by a fist pump in the air during those 26.2 miles told me it was going to be a pretty good day. NAILED IT.

Justin had finished the half marathon and was at mile 25 to give me the last push I needed to roll closer to Memorial Stadium. Rounding the drive along the north side of the stadium “tunnel” entrance, our family and their “Team Herrick” t-shirts stood at the perfect spot to send me on into the home stretch. As I made my way onto the turf field I could read 2:43:— on the clock. Finishing those last 50 yards with the National Guards lined up on either side was a vision and memory of this race I will not forget.

What I Learned: A hug goes a long way. I received a bear hug steps after the finish line from a stranger who has sacrificed and served our country. Telling me that I was an inspiration brought tears to my eyes, as I thanked him for his efforts and inspiration.

I was handed a dozen roses, given a jacket, and interviewed by the Omaha and Lincoln newspaper and local ABC affiliate news channel.  A glimpse into the life and experiences of a professional runner, this treatment was pretty neat. Check this link for the local news interview video. http://www.1011now.com/sports/headlines/Tabut-Repeats-as-Lincoln-Marathon-Winner-H-302359821.html?device=tablet&c=y

IMG_4216

What I Learned: The best things in life are even better when shared. Running included. Justin’s brother, Andy, ran a PR of 3:09 in tough conditions and continues to improve with each marathon he has run in the last 3 years. Justin ran a strong race in the half marathon and continues to progress with his Ironman training focus. Team Herrick and the super fans are a fierce group. Justin and I enjoyed staying with our friends Pete and Nikki at their home, the night before the race. Pete went to school with me from preschool through high school graduation. He has progressed his running past 30 marathons, into ultra marathons and even ran RAGBRAI in 2013. He ran a 12 minute PR and finished 3rd overall, in 2:41. My dear friend and co-worker, Beth Schweizer finished 2nd in her age group and overcame the heat and gut-angry conditions of the day. SHE is a major role in my pursuits, physical and mental strength, and successes. Her efforts and dedication to her family, faith, friendships, training, and role as a physical therapist do not go unnoticed. I am very fortunate to be her friend and blessed by His works, bringing her into my life and becoming a true best friend. She was too fast to catch her for a photo op!

IMG_4218IMG_4215

pete

Since returning to home and work, I have been overwhelmed by the kind emails, notes, and texts messages from family and friends. As I mentioned above, the best things in life are better shared and I have those in my support circle to thank for their contributing strength in my journey. Also thankful for Rock Valley Physical Therapy and PowerBar Team Elite for continuing to invest in my training and racing experiences.

Until next time, cheers to bowls of ice cream, pints of dark brew, and a much needed pedicure.

PIONEER ON,

DKH

2 thoughts on “Lincoln National Guard Marathon Race Recap

  1. Danna: You are an inspiration to me and many other people! I could not have found a more dependable and dedicated physical therapist and I feel blessed to have you serving that role for me and for giving everlasting hope of being able to be a competitive runner in my age group in the future. I have never been not able to run and went through a point of depression in learning of my injury/physical problem and through you I have regained faith and hope in my running future and for that I am very grateful. Thank-you so much for your caring attitude and I wish you the best in your future racing experiences.

    God’s speed,
    Rick VanScoy

    Like

  2. Pingback: Getting a Period. Getting Pregnant. | Be Your Journey

Leave a comment